Parking on Campus
Parking information for: Visitors and Guests | Students, Faculty & Staff
All vehicles parked on campus or on campus-owned lots must be registered with Public Safety. A parking permit will be issued and must be displayed as instructed. Vehicles without current permits will receive a parking violation citation. All students, faculty and staff are expected to observe campus parking and traffic regulations and posted speed limits.
Note: Fire zones and parking spaces for the disabled are under the jurisdiction of the Fire Marshall and the Cheltenham Township Police, who frequently patrol campus and issue tickets to illegally parked cars.
All motor vehicles and bicycles operated on any property of Arcadia University are subject to all provisions, rules, and laws set forth in the Pennsylvania Motor Vehicle Code and Arcadia University Parking Regulations. Violation of codes will subject the operator to fines and/or other disciplinary action.
What Is the Speed Limit?
- The speed limit on roadways on the Arcadia University campus is 15 miles per hour. All students, faculty and staff are expected to observe campus traffic regulations and speed limits.
- The speed limit in campus parking lots is 5 miles per hour. Arcadia University has one-way traffic counterclockwise around campus.
- Failure to obey traffic signs and/or endangering the safety of campus pedestrians or other drivers may result in the loss of the privilege of having a vehicle on campus and prosecution under Pennsylvania state law.
- The vehicle registrant and/or owner are considered responsible for the vehicle. If a violation occurs, regardless of whom is driving the vehicle, the owner and/or registrant will be held responsible, along with the operator of the vehicle.
- All vehicles parked on campus or campus-owned lots must be registered and display a valid parking permit. The hangtag permit must be placed on the inside rearview mirror facing the front of the car. If tinted windows hinder the visibility of the hangtag, it must be lowered so it can be clearly seen.
- Anyone attempting to register the vehicle of someone ineligible for a parking permit will be subject to sanctions for violating the Code of Conduct and the parking regulations.
- Registered vehicles may be parked only in designated parking areas that correspond with the letter on their hangtag.
- Vehicles parked in unlined paved areas, fire zones or on the grass will be ticketed.
- University employees and students are not allowed to park in designated visitors’ spaces
Parking fees are paid at the One Stop Shop, Taylor Hall, Suite 100.
- Full-time: $60 per year
- First-year resident student: Not permitted to have a vehicle on campus for any period of time without written permission from Student Affairs Office.
- Part-time (less than 12 credits): $30 per year
- Evening Parking (4 p.m. and later): No Charge
- Full-time (9 or more credits): $60 per year
- Part-time (less than 9 credits): $30 per semester
- Evening Parking (attending classes after 4 p.m.): No Charge
- Physical Therapy Program: 1st yr–$60; 2nd + half yr–$30
- Physician Assistant Program: 1st yr–$60; 2nd yr–$30
Alumni: Kuch Gym Membership parking – $30 per year
Parking Permit Replacement
The cost is $5 to replace a lost or stolen hangtag permit. You must report your hangtag permit as lost or stolen and obtain a new one from the Public Safety Department.
All fees, new or otherwise, must be paid at the beginning of the academic year. Students who do not return after the fall semester must turn in the hangtag permit at the Public Safety Office to receive a partial refund.
Parking Permit Designations
Letters on Parking hangtag permit denote the following:
- R – Resident Student Living on Campus
- C – Commuter Student
- S/OS – Oak Summit Resident Student; parking on campus permitted in Lot #1
- E – Evening Student; parking on campus after 4 p.m. (M-F)
- F/S – Faculty/Staff
- Temporary – Visitors, Guests, Contractors and Vendors
Make sure your hangtag permit is not covered up. It must be visible and readable. If the hangtag is not seen—or facing the wrong way—Public Safety will not hesitate on issuing a ticket.
Motorbikes and Motorcycles
Motorbikes and motorcycles are subject to all of the regulations governing motor vehicles and must be registered with Public Safety.
Loading and Unloading Vehicles
Individuals may load and unload vehicles in “No Parking” areas if these rules are followed:
- The vehicle’s four-way flashers must be activated.
- The time allowed for loading and unloading must not exceed 15 minutes.
- The vehicle must not block any roadway, pathway or building exit.
- Motorists cannot park in a fire lane or in a handicapped space at any time.
Citations issued by Public Safety are $15 per violation, and will be issued for the following offenses:
- No Valid Permit Displayed (should be hanging from rearview mirror)
- Parked in an Unauthorized Space or Lot
- Parked in a Fire Zone
- Parked in a Handicapped Space
- Parked in a Non-Parking Area (lawns, spaces without lines, hash marks)
- Violation of Posted Signs
- Parked in two or more spaces
- Violation of University traffic regulations
- Other: Any other violations the officer finds
- Handicapped parking violation: minimum $50 for the first offense, $100 for the second offense and $200 for the third offense. (Cheltenham Township Police will also ticket offenders.)
- Driving in the wrong direction: $25.
All parking fines are paid directly to the Arcadia University One-Stop Shop, located in Taylor Hall. The envelope-style citation left on the vehicle should be used to make payment.
- All parking tickets must be paid within five business days of issuance. A $15 processing fee will be added for any parking fine not paid or not under appeal within five days of issuance.
- Fines not paid by students will be added to their tuition bill.
- Fines must be paid before a student will be allowed to register for classes, validate ID’s or participate in Commencement.
- Repeated abuse of the parking regulations may result in a referral to the Dean of Students for Code of Conduct charges.
If your vehicle has been issued three or more parking violation citations, you are subject to having a vehicle-immobilizing unit (boot) placed on your vehicle. Boot Removal
In addition to the citations issued, the owner must satisfy the outstanding tickets and will be charged an additional $25 to remove the boot. In order to remove the boot you must come to the Public Safety Office. If the boot remains on the vehicle, there will be a $15 a day charge and after the third day the vehicle may be towed at the owner’s expense.
Note: If your vehicle has been immobilized, subsequent parking violations will result in your vehicle again being immobilized. If a vehicle is immobilized three times, parking privileges may be revoked.
You should only appeal a ticket if you believe you were not in violation or there were extenuating circumstances. Otherwise the ticket must be paid within 5 business days.
Appealing a Ticket
Individuals wishing to appeal a ticket or citation must submit a Parking Appeals Form within 5 business days of receipt of the ticket or citation. Appeal forms are also available in The Public Safety Office and at the Grey Towers Castle reception area.
The appeal form must be completed with the ticket stapled to the back and submitted to the Public Safety Office. The Parking Appeals Committee, comprised of representatives from the faculty, staff and student groups, review the appeals.
- Have permit forgot to put it on car.
- Left car with flashers on in an unauthorized space or lot.
- Did not realize it was a Faculty/Staff Lot.
- Unable to buy parking permit, cannot get to office until after the office closes.
- There is not enough parking for students.
- Do not feel comfortable walking far distances at night.
- Permit fell off mirror
- Permit was behind another permit.
- Permit was on, officer did not see it.
- Unaware that I was not allowed to park in that space or lot.
- Snow was covering the lines.
- Did not know that Guests/Visitors needed temporary permits.
- Did not remember to get up the next morning and move the car.
- Not parked for more than 15 minutes, but was issued a ticket.
- Unable to get permit, was waiting for Registration.
- Could not find any parking and did not want to be late for class.
- Thought “Faculty/Staff” was teacher and students.
- No time to pick up new permit.
- No clear sign stating “No Parking”.
- Other cars park there without getting a ticket.
- Did not know that Evening “E” or Alternate “A” hang tags were not good during the day.
- Did not realize the hang tag was expired.
- I am a First-Year Student and I’m waiting for approval to park on campus.
- Parents or friend was visiting.
- Thought “Open Lots” did not need a permit to park.
- Did not know permits had to be renewed each year.
- Did not know Temporary parking passes were issued at the Castle after Public Safety closed.
- Using different car and forgot to get permit from other car.
- Hang tag is lost or stolen.