Arcadia to Induct Hall of Fame Class of 2013

By Purnell T. Cropper | October 10, 2013

Arcadia University will hold its 2013 Athletic Hall of Fame Induction on Saturday, Oct. 12, as part of the Fall Fest and Homecoming Weekend activities. This year’s class includes Gene Camm ’93, Tom Carlin ’99, Diane Deane Myers ’51, Cynthia McKelvy Mattson ’52, and Virginia Junkin Walls ’38. This marks the sixth induction class for the Athletic Hall of Fame.

“We are extremely excited to induct the sixth class into the Athletics Hall of Fame,” said Director of Athletics Brian Granata. “The induction ceremony is always a special event on our campus. It allows us the opportunity to honor deserving individuals for their accomplishments during their time at Beaver College/Arcadia University and in their personal and professional lives beyond the university. Gene, Tom, Diane, Cynthia and Virginia are certainly deserving of this tremendous honor.”

The Arcadia Athletics Hall of Fame held its first induction ceremony in 2008. The purpose of the Hall of Fame is to identify, recognize and honor outstanding contributors to the Arcadia athletics program, athletic endeavors and institutional image; to honor achievements of individuals and teams; and to recognize alumni and employees of distinction in athletic endeavors and related accomplishments. The Hall of Fame consists of student-athletes, teams, coaches, staff, administrators and faculty, who excelled on the field of play, helped foster the continued success of student-athletes or made an indelible mark on the Department of Athletics.