ArtQuest '88

September 15–October 13, 1988
Beaver College Art Gallery


Beaver College Art Gallery is pleased to present "ArtQuest '88" from September 15–October 13, 1988. The fourth-annual iteration of this traveling exhibition represents 36 artists juried by notable curators from across the United States. Before arriving at Beaver, the show was presented this past summer at Hillwood Art Gallery, C.W Post College, Long Island University, and will continue on to the Fine Arts Gallery at the Univesity of California Irvine. Art Quest was endowed in 1984 by artist and educator Jonette Slabey to provide national exposure to emerging artists. A catalogue with an introductory essay by Melinda F. Wortz, art critic and professor of art history, University of California, accompanies the exhibition.


Graham Beal, chief curator, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art; Neal Benezra, associate curator, 20th century painting and sculpture, Art Institute of Chicago; Elizabeth Broun, chief curator and assistant director, National Museum of American Art, Smithsonian Institution, Washington DC; Ann Goldstein, assistant curator, Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles, California; Susan B. Hirschfeld, assistant curator, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York; Dr. Judy Collischan Van Wagner, director Hillwood Art Gallery, C.W. Post College, Long Island University, Long Island, New York; and Melinda F. Wortz, art critic, professor of art history, director Fine Arts Gallery, University of California, Irvine.


Joe Bartos, Francis Brown, Bill Cadge, Carlos Caicedo, Chu-Hsien Chang, Jocelyn Chateauvert, Robert Chouinard, Helen Cohen, Kaki Crowell, Juan Cruz, Cyril David, Paul Epple, Carl Feiber, Suzi Gomez, Mark Gordon, Susan Groce, Priscilla Henderson, Diane Henk, Gordon Holler, Melinda Hunt, Paul Jeremias, Richard Kelley, James Larsen, Frank Limone, Susan Martin, John McGuire, Susan Morris McGee, Masumi Nakamura, Shauna Peck, George Radeschi, Leona Schmidt Janke, Andrew Starsinko, Randy Strathman-Becker, Robert Studzinski, Dolly Unithan, Amy Worthen, Pamela Vander Zwan