Students Honored at 2015 Convocation

By jretter | April 1, 2015

Student and faculty achievements were highlighted at Arcadia’s annual Honors Convocation, March 28 in the Kuch Center Alumni Gymnasium.

More than 700 undergraduate students were named to the Dean’s Honors and Distinguished Honors Lists for the spring 2014 semester, while more than 750 were named to the fall 2014 lists. In addition, 55 students were inducted to Phi Kappa Phi, 10 students became members of Alpha Epsilon Lambda, and 65 special awards were given to 63 students.

Student Government Organization President Daniel Rivera ’17 and Secretary Devon Miller ’18 (above, left and right) served as student marshals in the procession.

The Provost Award for Outstanding Advising and Mentoring, a new faculty award, was given to Angela R. Gillem, PhD, professor of psychology. Jonathan Shina ’00, MEd ’02, adjunct professor of mathematics, received the Adjunct Faculty Award. Laura J. Conway, PhD, assistant professor of genetic counseling, received the Lindback Foundation Award for Distinguished Teaching.

“A uniquely Arcadian spirit…binds us to one another as a close-knit community, challenges us to cooperate rather than compete, encourages us to transcend our preconceived limitations, and teaches us to not only anticipate change but to start the movement,” said Aashika Suseendran ’15 (above), who delivered the student address. Suseendran also received the Honors Program Distinguished Academic Achievement Award and was named one of Arcadia’s 15 Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.