With construction nearly complete, the Arcadia community is anxiously awaiting the opening of the new Commons student center on Jan. 23, 2012. After more than a year of construction, the 62,000-square-foot building connects to the existing Kuch Athletic and Recreation Center and brings much-needed space to the ever-growing Glenside campus. In addition to updated recreational and athletic facilities, the Commons will include student lounges, a new café area, meeting space and offices, notably for both President Carl (Tobey) Oxholm III and Provost Dr. Steve O. Michael.
It is undeniable that without the support of our alumni, a project such as this would be impossible. The Commons will feature several dedications by classes celebrating their reunions. Plaques will be installed to mark the enduring legacies these classes will have on campus.
Class of 1950: Athletic Office
Class of 1951: Student Activity Meeting Room
Class of 1956: Student Lounge Area
Class of 1960: Commons Bridge
Class of 1961: Student Lounge Area
Class of 1971: Grand Entrance
In addition to these generous gifts, the Classes of 1958 and 1959 recently dedicated smart classrooms in Easton Hall in honor of their reunion years. The Class of 1968 created an Endowed Scholarship in their honor, ensuring the future of an accessible Arcadia education for years to come. Not to be left out, 2012 Reunion classes are currently working on their dedication goals: Class of 1957—South Terrace of the Commons, Class of 1962—Lounge in Easton Hall and an endowed scholarship, and Class of 1967—the renovated Sports Pavilion up near the tennis courts.
Register here to let us know you will be returning to campus for the Ribbon Cutting, Dedication and Reception starting at 9:50 a.m. on January 23. Look for upcoming Chronicles articles featuring news and more information about the dedication.