Committee on the Protection of Research Subjects (COPRS)

COPRS Mission

Arcadia University acknowledges its responsibility to protect the welfare of human and animal subjects involved in research performed on its premises or conducted under its authority by persons affiliated with the university. At the same time the university, as an academic institution, recognizes a special interest in promoting research and a special responsibility to see that the rights of academic freedom traditionally accorded researchers not be abridged.

These policies are applicable to all research, research training, experimentation, biological testing, psychological testing, and related activities involving human or animal subjects. In addition, this policy covers research being conducted by faculty, staff, or students of this institution conducting research off site.

Oversight of all on-campus or university-authorized research or projects that involve human subjects will be exercised by the Institutional Review Board (IRB) and for live (vertebrate) animal subjects by the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC).

Spring 2021 IRB Meeting Schedule

Electronic Proposals Due Due Date for Pre-review from Reviewer Pre-review Revisions Due from Investigator Full Board Meeting Time
  Thursday, January 14 Thursday, January 21 Monday, January 25 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Monday, January 25 Monday, February 8 Monday, February 15 Monday, February 22 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Monday, February 22 Monday, March 8 Monday, March 15 Monday, March 29 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Monday, March 29 Monday, April 12 Monday, April 19 Monday, April 26 12:00pm- 1:00pm
Monday, April 26 Monday, May 3 Monday, May 10 Monday, May 17 12:00pm - 1:00pm

*NOTE: All IRB protocols must be submitted by the Electronic Protocols Due Date or your protocol will not be reviewed at that month's meeting.

Protocol Submission

Protocols should be submitted a minimum of six weeks before the anticipated start date of the project to allow sufficient time for review. Researchers are encouraged to seek out a member of COPRS (IRB or IACUC, see link on the left for a list of the current members) to answer questions about the process or to review a completed draft of a protocol prior to submission for COPRS review. Students are encouraged to work with their advisors on the draft BEFORE they seek out a member of COPRS.

All protocols must be typed. Submit all protocol documents through IRBNet.org by the submission deadline. Written approval from the IRB or IACUC must be obtained before initiating any research involving human or animal subjects.