Arcadia Students Inducted into Phi Beta Delta as Part of International Education Week

By whitlocd | November 23, 2010

By Marykate Torley ’11

On Nov. 16 to coincide with the celebration of International Education Week, the Office of International Affairs hosted the Induction Ceremony for the Phi Beta Delta Honor Society for International Scholars, the Epsilon Kappa Chapter at Arcadia University.

The induction ceremony took place in the Castle Rose Room in which 54 students and one staff member were honored as family and friends looked on. Jan Finn, the Associate Dean for International Affairs, and Alan Powell, Associate Professor in Communications, and President of the Epsilon Kappa Chapter presided over the ceremony.

Phi Beta Delta was founded in 1986 and was established as a national organization in 1987. It is the first national honor society dedicated to recognizing achievement in international education. Arcadia’s chapter was founded in 2003.

The goals of the society include recognizing the scholarly achievement of international students and scholars as well as U.S. students who have studied abroad. The society also serves as a vehicle for the development of academic-based international programming, and hopes to provide a network on each campus that is involved in international endeavors.

In his welcome address Dr. Warren Haffar, Dean of International Affairs said, “This year’s Phi Beta Delta induction marks the eighth cohort being recognized for its scholarly achievements of Arcadia students who have studied abroad, international students matriculated at our university and faculty and staff who are involved in international activities.”

The new inductees are: Alisa Ambrose, Sara Bobbit, Kara Boland, Joseph W. Carp, Jr., Lauren Chambers, Cydnee Chmielewski, Chelsea Christiansen, Maria Clarke, Heidi Diehl, Elizabeth Doblovsky, Jacquelyn Eckert, Catherine Ensslen, Justin Evert, Michael Friedman, Tiffany Goodell, Holly Hamilton, Jennifer Haran, Alisa Hathaway, Lauren Haufler, Meredith Jones, Jennifer Kilpatrick, Brittany Koza, Haoshu Li, Binita Mandalia, Kelsey Mattson, Lauren Myers, Amanda Nace, Kendra Neff, Amanda Nosel, Collin Oswald, Hellen Oti-Yeboah, Dajah Park, Kaitlin Plasterer, Liesl Reimann, Matthew Restaino, Erica Rohloff, Jennifer Ross, Gina Ruppert, Julia Sandrock, Candace Schaedel, Bailey Lynn Shaw, Nicholas Thomas Smith, Jessica Spencer, Alison Stefanik, Ceton Tate, Justin Theal, Jennifer Titone, Marykate Torley, Jessica Tribble, Elizabeth Troskey, Trevor White, Jessica Whiting, Jaclyn Widger, and Sarah Zeigler and from Arcadia staff, Meredith Mashner.