Academics Committee

Mission

Review proposals and make recommendations to the Faculty Senate regarding the creation, suspensions, and cancellation of academic programs, policies, degrees, and courses.

Members

  • Matthew Heitzman (CAS, English), Chair
  • Foram Bhukhanwala (School of Education)
  • Michael Dwyer (CAS, Media & Communications)
  • Jodi Freeman (CHS, Medical Science)
  • Daniel Pieczkolon (CAS, English)
  • Michelle Reale (Landman Library)
     

Course Proposals

New Spring 2021 Course Proposals

If you wish to offer a new course for the first time it does not have to be reviewed by the Academics Committee, unless the course is a specific requirement for a major or minor. First-time offered courses are given a temporary number of either a 185, 285 or 385 such as US285.  However, first-time courses that are required for a major or minor, which must be reviewed by the Academic Committee, would have a permanent number assigned.

If you wish to offer a 185, 285 or 385 for a second time it needs to be reviewed by the Academics Committee. The deadline for submitting a Spring 2021 course proposal is Tuesday, October 20th, 2020. This is a true deadline.

Graduate-level courses should be sent to Mary Kate McNulty and undergraduate course proposals to Bruce Keller. All courses proposal must include how they will be "All Modes Ready". Please review which courses you plan on offering in the spring and if any of them were 185, 285 or 385 they need to be reviewed by the Academics Committee.

New AUC Designations for Spring 2021 Courses

The deadline to submit AUC designations for a Spring 2021 course is Tuesday, October 13th, 2020.  Please send submissions to Lindsay McGann.  Below is a list of all the curriculum directors if you have any questions about a designation.

Curriculum Directors and Coordinators

Please contact the following members of the Steering Committee if you have any further questions about specific areas of the Curriculum.

  • Director of First-Year Academic Experience: Rachel Collins (English), collinsr@arcadia.edu
  • Director of University Seminars: Elizabeth Ferrell (Visual and Performing Arts), ferrelle@arcadia.edu, x4720
  • Director of Global Connections: Jojo Lucena (Modern Languages), lucenaj@arcadia.edu, x4038
  • Director of University Writing:  Jennifer Matisoff (English), matisoffj@arcadia.edu, x4029
  • Visual Literacy Coordinator: Abbey Ryan (Visual and Performing Arts),  ryana@arcadia.edu , x2133
  • Quantitative Reasoning Coordinator: Megan Wright (Biology), wrightm@arcadia.edu, 267.620.4827
  • Dean of Graduate and Undergraduate Studies: Nancy G. Rosoff, rosoffn@arcadia.edu, x2921

Forms

Meeting Minutes

Sept 17 2020: Agenda | Minutes

October 6 2020: Agenda | Minutes