Women’s Soccer Captures Second Consecutive ECAC Championship

By Purnell T. Cropper | November 18, 2014

Sophomore back Alyssa Ferraro scored the game-winning goal in the 98th minute to give the second-seeded Arcadia University women’s soccer team a 2-1 victory over fifth-seeded McDaniel College in the 2014 Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Division III South Championship final, securing the Knights’ second straight ECAC title win. Senior midfielder Nina Barbieri was named the tournament’s Most Outstanding Player.

Arcadia had to come from behind to win this one after sophomore midfielder Christina Wroblewski put home a loose ball off a corner in the 68th minute to give the Green Terror (10-6-5) a 1-0 lead. The Knights tied it up nine minutes later as sophomore midfielder Jackie Glanfield sent a perfect cross from the right edge of the box to freshman midfielder Tara Smith, who headed the ball into the left side of the goal for the first goal of her collegiate career.

Nina Barbieri was named Outstanding. Nina Barbieri was named the tournament’s Most Outstanding Player.

Both teams exchanged scoring opportunities from there but could not cash in, sending the game to overtime. McDaniel attempted to clear the ball out of its defensive end following an Arcadia corner, but the ball went right to Ferraro some 30 yards out. She sent the ball back in looking for a teammate, but instead the ball bounced over Green Terror freshman keeper Sarah McDonald and into the goal with 2:26 remaining in the extra period for her second goal of the year.

Senior keeper Veronica Willig registered three saves to improve her record to 17-6-0 for the season. Her 17 wins are the most in a single season at Arcadia.

McDonald was outstanding in goal for McDaniel in the loss, recording 17 saves. Her record fell to 3-2-2 with the loss.

The Knights dominated the game, outshooting the Green Terror 25-5 in the game with a 9-2 advantage on corner kicks.

Arcadia finished the season with an overall record of 18-6-0. The Knights’ 18 wins are the most in a single season in program history. The previous record of 15 wins was first set in 2009 (15-2-3) and then matched in 2010 (15-4-1).