Religious Holidays

Academic Year 2017-18

Below are the dates of major religious holidays scheduled to occur during the 2017-18 Academic Year. This list is being provided to make you aware of potential schedule conflicts involving large numbers of students. All students are responsible for negotiating their needs around religious practices with their professors. 

Please note:

  • Jewish holidays begin at sunset on the evening before the date given. 
  • Muslim holidays begin at sunset on the evening before the date given. Muslim holidays are based on a lunar calendar, and the actual dates are determined by direct observation of the moon and announced by the mosque. (The most observant Muslims will observe all days: others may observe only the first two days of Eid-al-Fitr and Eid-al-Adha.) 
Date Holiday Religion
Saturday, May 27 - Sunday, June 25 First Days of Ramadan Muslim
Saturday, June 24 - Sunday, June 25 Eid-al-Fitr  Muslim
Thursday, August 31 - Monday, September 4 Ei-al-Adha  Muslim
Wednesday, September 20 - Saturday, September 30 Navratri Hindu
Friday, September 22 First Day of Muharrum Muslim
Wednesday, September 20 - Friday, September 22  Rosh Hashanah  Jewish 
Friday, September 29 - Saturday, September 30  Day of Ashura  Muslim
Friday, September 29 - Saturday, September 30  Yom Kippur  Jewish
Saturday, September 30 Dussehra Hindu
Wednesday, Oct. 4 - Wednesday, Oct. 11  Sukkot  Jewish
Friday, Oct. 20 - Saturday, Oct. 21 Birth of the Bab Baha'i
Wednesday, Oct. 11 - Friday, Oct. 13 Simchat Atzeret  Jewish
Thursday Oct. 12 - Friday, Oct. 13 Simchat Torah Jewish
Thursday, Oct. 19  Diwali Hindu
Saturday, Oct. 21 - Sunday, Oct. 22  Birth of Baha'u'lla'h  Baha'i
Tuesday, Dec. 12 - Wednesday, Dec. 20  Hanukkah Jewish
Monday, Dec. 25  Christmas  Christian 
Wednesday, Feb. 14 Ash Wednesday  Christian 
Wednesday, Feb. 28 - Thursday, March 1  Purim  Jewish 
Friday, March 30 - Saturday April 7  Passover  Jewish  
Friday, March 30  Good Friday  Christian 
Sunday, April 1  Easter  Christian 
Friday April 20 - Wednesday May 2  First Day Ridvan   Baha'i