Arcadia Celebrates Faculty and Staff at Years of Service Luncheon

By Celia Rittler | June 8, 2023

In May, Arcadia honored its faculty and staff with the annual Years of Service Luncheon, recognizing employees for their hard work and dedication to Arcadia University. Arcadia recognized faculty and staff celebrating significant milestones and handed out various awards, some of which were made possible by charitable support from donors. The 2023 award winners are as follows:

Faculty Awards

–   Dr. Thomas P. Dougherty Endowed Faculty-Student Research Award: Dr. Fabio Oldoni, College of Arts and Sciences

–   Marie-Louise and Eugene Jackson International Fund for Student and Faculty Development: Dr. Hsin-Hua (Cathy) Lee, College of Arts and Sciences

–   Frank and Evelyn Steinbrucker ’42 Endowed Chair Award: Dr. Jonathan Church, College of Arts and Sciences

–   Ellington Beavers Faculty Award for Intellectual Inquiry: Dr. Philip Malloy, College of Health Sciences and Dr. Ryan Zarzycki, College of Health Sciences

Years of Service      

All faculty and staff celebrating milestone years in 2023 can be found here. We would like to especially recognize:

40 Years of Service Honorees:

–   Dr. Rebecca Craik, dean of the College of Health Sciences

–   Rick Arras, assistant professor, Mathematics


–   Dr. Susan Tomlinson, director of clinical education for Physical Therapy

–   Dr. Elaine Jones, assistant professor of Psychology

–   Celeste Walker, adjunct professor 

–   Sergeant Tom Hannigan, Department of Public Safety

–   Eugene Slobodian, Facilities

University Awards

–   Cultural Co-Conspirator Award: Dejenaba Gordon and Shaliyah Braxton

–   Wes Rose Access and Inclusion Award: Rick Arras and Jessica Mattis

–   Career Influencer Award: Adam Levy

–   Advancing Students As Professionals (ASAP) Supervisor of the Year Award: Stephanie Schmidt and Heather Sherman

–   Values in Practice Rising Star Award: Maria Cashman

–   Values in Seasoned Vet Award: Dr. Michelle Reale

–   John Hagerty Dependability Award: Paul Mercurio

–   Sharon Anthony Dedication Award: Deb Schwartz

–   Martha Washington Award for Distinguished Service: Lisa Stephens 

After the ceremony, Arcadia honored and dedicated a tree to three former staff members who recently passed away. Family, friends, and colleagues of Sharon Anthony, former Payroll Manager, John Hagerty, former Maintenance Supervisor, and Cruz Rivera, former Public Safety Officer, shared stories and laughs of these three wonderful individuals and saluted them for their decades of service to Arcadia University.