Faculty, Staff Recognized at 2018 Years of Service Luncheon

By RetterJ | May 30, 2018

By Nicole Gieselman ’19

On May 23, Arcadia University celebrated its dedicated faculty and staff at the 2018 Years of Service Luncheon in the Kuch Gymnasium. The ceremony recognized outstanding research, teaching, and student support efforts by faculty and staff, including Dr. Pradyumna Chauhan, professor of English, and Dr. Finbarr O’Connor, professor and chair of Philosophy and Religion, who were honored for 50 years of distinguished service at Arcadia.

Dr. James Casey, assistant professor of English, received The Ellington Beavers Fund for Intellectual Inquiry, a grant that supports full-time faculty research; Dr. Yanxia Jia, associate professor of Computer Science, was awarded the Dr. Thomas P. Dougherty Endowed Faculty-Student Research Award, a prize given to junior faculty members in the sciences; Dr. Aroline Hanson, assistant professor of Modern Languages, earned the Marie-Louise and Eugene Jackson International Fund to facilitate scholarly exchange with institutions abroad; and Dr. Bruce Campbell, associate professor of Education, received the prestigious Dr. Norman Johnston Fellowship in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

The 2018 Cultural Ally Awards, which honor faculty and staff who go above and beyond in providing inclusive environments for students to learn, live, and grow in, were given to Meredith Mashner, director of International Student Services; Dr. Jonathan Church, professor of Sociology, Anthropology, and Criminal Justice; and Dr. Amy Cox, director of the International Peace and Conflict Resolution program.

The Wes Rose Access and Inclusion Award— a new recognition honoring leaders in inclusion— was established in memory of late faculty member Dr. Wes Rose. Scott Rawlins, professor of Visual Arts, and Tom Macchi, associate vice president of Facilities and Capital Planning, received the faculty and staff Dr. Wes Rose awards, respectively.

For her passion, generosity, and kindness, Sharon Knight, housekeeper in Facilities Management and Capital Planning, received the Martha Washington Award for Distinguished Service, presented annually to a staff member who exemplifies consistent excellence and exceptional service. Knight was praised for her ability to bring out the best in others and her dedication to ensuring Grey Towers Castle remains a second home for many students.