77 Earn Doctor of Physical Therapy Degrees

By Purnell T. Cropper | February 25, 2011

Seventy-seven students earned the Doctor of Physical Therapy degree during Arcadia University’s Doctor of Physical Therapy Commencement on Saturday, Feb. 19.  Dr. Steve Michael, Provost and Academic Vice President, conferred the degrees, directing the students to move their tassels in unison. Physical Therapy faculty performed the hooding of each doctoral candidate, and Professor and Department Chair Dr. Rebecca Craik greeted each graduate with her hallmark hug.

Thirty-two students graduated with distinction, and 24 students participated in international academic experiences in Dominica, Guatemala, Jamaica, England and Peru.

Several Arcadia students assisted in the ceremony. Melinda Hoover ’11D.P.T. gave the invocation, Arynne Rachael Moody ’11D.P.T. sang the National Anthem, and Andrew Strittmatter ’11D.P.T. gave the Student Address.

Fifty-six of the graduates completed the entry-level doctoral program. Twenty-one physical therapists completed the post-professional transitional doctoral program.

The guest speaker was Dr. G. Kelley Fitzgerald, Associate Professor of Physical Therapy at the School of Health and Rehabilitation and Director of the Physical Therapy Clinical and Translational Research Center at the University of Pittsburgh. He has received numerous research grants, including federal funding from the National Institutes of Health and the Agency for Health Research and Quality, and has published numerous research and other articles related to physical therapy management of patients with knee disorders.

The following graduates received awards:

  • Alex Sean Catlin ’11D.P.T. received the Case Presentation Award in recognition of excellence in reporting clinical decision making.
  • Erin Elizabeth Edenfield ’11D.P.T. received the Hines Wright Humanitarian Award in recognition of gaining an expanded view of clinical practice and being a global citizen.
  • Ashley Eisennagel ’11D.P.T., Jennifer Eisennagel ’11D.P.T. and Hallie Lenker ’11D.P.T. received the Research Investigation Award in recognition of excellence in research design, execution and presentation.
  • Melinda J. Hoover ’11D.P.T. received the Jill Sisenwine Berger Award in recognition of excellence, integrity, compassion, altruism, professionalism, and social responsibility.
  • Stephanie Johnson ’11D.P.T. received the Marty Palmer Award in recognition of extraordinary efforts on behalf of classmates and the PT program.
  • David Thomas Karge ’11D.P.T. received the Eugene Michels Award
  • Lindsay Creamer Robjent ’11D.P.T. received the Eric Scott McKee Student Travel Award in recognition of a future scholar who is presenting research at a national meeting.
  • Andrew Strittmatter ’11D.P.T. received the E. Jane Carlin Award in recognition of academic excellence and outstanding clinical promise.
  • David Thomas ’11D.P.T. received the Eugene Michels Award in recognition of outstanding clinical reasoning processes used throughout the PT curriculum.
  • Matthew S. Wilging ’11D.P.T. received the John Robinson Award in recognition of outstanding contributions to maintaining the general morale of the students.